building and shooting a PRS/precision service rifle final pics

Gunsmithing & DIY forum for everyone. Enjoy!
Post your projects, questions and advice here.
lee_enfield223
.17 HMR
Favourite Cartridge: 223rem

building and shooting a PRS/precision service rifle final pics

Post by lee_enfield223 »

Hi All
A few want to know what PRS(precision rifle shooting) and PSR Precision service rifle are and whats involved.
Well I am no expert, but here's my experiences shooting PSR at Hornsby, they are also shot at Castlemain in victoria and on the majura ranges in the ACT and ranges are shot from 100 to 1000m
PRS matches are mostly shot on ranges with barricades to lean plus all sorts of shooting positions and shot on all sorts of targets inc steel which you knock down or swing and thats about all I know, just do a search on youtube.
Now Precision Service Rifle is shot on mostly Australian Army style targets such as the fig 14 face target ,fig12 top half of a person and fig 11 the whole person, all with scoring rings.
There are no sighting rounds ,you shoot the target and adjust during the match !~!!!!! yes you BETTER have your height settings correct! LOL .the shoots are all on nra ranges that I know of, and at canberra they shot one round at a clay target at 1000m for the first shot of the match a few months back!!! no one hit it...
Now for the rifles, mostly BIG money is spent here, BUT you can shoot anything allowed on the range in two classes they are NATO either 308 or 223rem and open class any other caliber allowed on the range. here's a few pics of my Stiller TAC30 in 308 on the grass, and my new Stiller Spectre(no not from james Bond LOL) with it's octagonal shaped action in 260rem ,both rifles have Atlas worxs bottom metal trigger guards and McMillian A3A5 stocks and one huge advantage is both take AI double stack AW Mags.